Grand Display

April 15, 2008

OK, so this post dosen’t have really anything to do with sustainable biotechnology other than I guess you could say that it is an awesome example of nature’s own biotechnological wonder. I finished all my work (and my taxes) on Sunday so I could take off and shoot the flowers in the desert north of KGI at the Antelope Valley Poppy Preserve. It takes a fair bit of time to get there but it’s totally worth it! I bet only a small fraction of the millions of people in the Los Angeles area know what happens just to the north every Spring. To get there from KGI you take the 210 West to the 5 North to the top of the Grapevine. Turn East onto highway 138 and drive till the world turns Orange then take a right. It’s just that easy.

 Hills near Gorman

The hills near Gorman just after you turn off Interstate 5.

Poppy Preserve looking West

A sea of Orange at the Poppy Preserve.

Mt. Baldy from the North

The North side of Mt. Baldy from the Poppy Preserve. KGI is directly on the other side of that mountain.

Poppy Preserve from the top.

Other stuff besides California Poppies grow there too. They are just harder to find.

PS. If anyone wants to see the rest of my photography check out my gallery (http://dcoatproductions.com/dcpgallery/main.php) and my regular site (http://www.cyrus.dcoatproductions.com/). They have lots of stuff taken on my adventures around the state of California and the US. As you can tell I am way big into mountain adventure. All you KGI people who are into mountain biking, skiing, mountaineering, or anything else having to do with adventure in the great outdoors be sure to look me up and we’ll go get into some trouble.

Leave a Reply

